失败:这是一个令人不快的词,可以让即使是最强大的专业人士夜不能寐。这是因为您的货物被卡在海关的非温控区并且不知何时才能被放行吗?这是因为临床试验所选的国家有着严格的要求、运输和清关的重要许可尚未发放吗?在亚洲和拉丁美洲安排试验的最糟糕的部分是获得伦理批准吗?我们可以共同采取措施来减少失败的可能性并提高成功率吗?

当涉及到专业物流时,其覆盖面可能会越来越小,但这并不意味着它就更简单。制药厂商在全球进行临床试验,力求扩大适用对象的数量,从而获得更大的成本效益。然而,如果产品、物资和样品的运输被中断,上述许多优势可能会减少或完全丧失。

2014 年,国际制药行业在冷链物流方面花费 80 亿美元。该数据表明,在研发增长的同时,物流也在增长。随着产品的发展,对靶向治疗和有针对性的物流解决方案(特别是在临床试验领域)的需求也越来越多。这意味着对定制从研究样品到包装再到监控的一切的需求。了解市场动态和全球供应链需要仔细研究制造商可以从哪里找到满足其物流需求的解决方案。


供应的完整性

简单来说,必须要将药物、疫苗和辅助材料准时送至正确的地点,确保没有温差且能够供患者使用。这一责任落在了临床试验供应专家的肩上。

完整性和连续性对于运行成功的试验并确保患者安全至关重要。要实现这一点,就要确保将在整个运输过程中一直保持在合适温度条件下的货物及时地送至目的地。然而,这并不一定意味着要快速发货,而是要在计划阶段进行充分的考虑,以确保在运输和清关时满足预期;并且,在清关和/或执行规定检查时,要确保存储温度适宜。完整性大部分时候比时间更重要。


技术工具

那就是说,通常会涉及时间要素,特别是当研究人员的站点准备接收患者时——所以要尽可能的采取任何可用的措施来减少延迟。这可能包括带温度监控器的链接技术,如集成语音和网络响应系统注册。可以使用大量的帮助工具和用于直接在收货人所在地上传货物数据的基于云的技术,大大改进释放应用药物的流程。

能够理解宏观和微观水平并在其之间进行转换是至关重要的。监控整个托盘很容易;航空运输过程中使用的全球定位系统是温度控制市场上的最新技术之一。这项技术在起飞和降落的过程中会执行关闭和开启操作,但始终会积极地读取和发送包裹的位置。

虽然 geo-temp 技术要超越其作为报警系统的功能还有很长的路要走,但这一创新着实令运输界感到振奋。当我们最终交付时,这些对于大多数货物而言是不实用或不符合成本效益的。使用简单的 TempTale 或 Elpro 设备通常是一个更好的选择,即使位置可见性不再可用。


目的地位于何处?

没有错误的国家,但在设置成本和监管争论,以及涉及足够的患者/对象的物流挑战方面,有无法获得投资回报的国家。关于是否值得,必须要考虑向站点供应材料的困难。严格的法规知识对于成功的运输以及最终的试验启动都极其重要。发送到发达国家的传统市场通常更简单,因为那里有成熟且基本统一的规定。

当进入新的国家(尤其是发展中国家)时,则需要熟悉这些国家的复杂需求。如果雇佣一位了解法规和语言的当地人作为当地代表,并在合适的时区运营,这可极大地促进这一流程的实施。他们还可作为记录的进口商,担任法人来申请文书、税款准备金,并提供清关所需的信息和文档。

除了了解和申请法定经常费用,了解当地的文化规范也是关键。印度经常被称为问题目的地,因此在制定程序和指导方针时,应考虑病人的素养、社会经济问题和社会文化规范(包括性别差异)等问题。

可以预先计划很多对策来帮助避免意外情况,如提前决定要发送的材料(而不是在本地采购)以及如何对其进行分类。

部分国家很难发送辅助材料。以下物品可能很难通关:针头、注射器、温度计、电子病例报表;这在很大程度上取决于目的地国和物品的报关方式。本地联系人通常可以提出一些建议,以便以符合国家要求的最佳方式报关,从而获得进口许可证/执照。


温度控制

运输合作伙伴面临越来越多“冷”环境以外的温度范围要求,如环境/室内温度,或对于使用身体自身物质(血液、组织等)抵抗疾病的产品的体温要求。良好的配送实践规定正在演变为监管机构要求的贯穿整个供应链的温度控制。现在的药物包含越来越多保质期更短且有严格的温度要求的高价值活性药物成分,制药公司发现一系列温度需要正在进入供应链。这个行业正在远离“冷链”,并朝着更具包容性的“温控运输”发展。

根据所需的温度范围选择合适的包装有助于获得合适的运输温度。有很多不同成本的选项,从聚苯乙烯盒里的简单

水基凝胶包到带相变材料冷却块的真空隔热控制箱,再到主动运输系统,如能够接收托盘材料的 Envirotainers 和 C-Safe 容器。没有单个正确的选择,因为有太多因素需要考虑——例如,原产地和目的地、温度范围、货物尺寸及内容。包装制造商进行了大量的测试,并且提供了相关数据,将这些数据与物流供应商和货运代理的建议相结合,可以帮助为单个货物选择最合适的包装。


中国增长

例如,在中国,政府正致力于实现 90 天的临床试验批准流程——包括科学审查和伦理批准,但这一期限目标并不总是能得到满足。通常,完成流程并获得所有必要文件需要三到六个月的时间,之后才能将临床物资进口到该国。必须严格遵守进口许可证的要求。如果许可证由北京食品和药物管理局颁发,那么进口流程应该通过北京完成。使用不同的进口通道将会导致一些意外情况和延误的可能性,以及由此所需承担的一切后果。

所需的时间似乎很长,可能会让您思考是否值得进入中国市场,但是请记住,在获得监管部门批准后,还必须在该国完成一项临床试验才能进行药物销售。到 2016 年,中国的药品销量预计将超过日本——目前的世界第二大市场 (1)。

有多种方式可以控制出货,并访问和查看整个供应链的货物。使用工具并于经验丰富的合作伙伴合作,可以改进规划和实施。


参考文献

1.行业报告,医疗:中国,经济学人智库,2014 年 8 月

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

World in Motion

This article first appeared on the International Clinical Trials, May 2015

Failure: what a nasty word, and one that can keep even the most hardened professional awake at night. Is this because your shipment is stuck in customs in a non-temperature controlled area and there are no signs of when it will be released? Is it because difficult countries were selected for the clinical trial, and the import permits have not been issued to allow shipping and clearance to take place? Is getting ethics approval the worst part in arranging for a trial in Asia or Latin America? Could we collectively do anything to reduce the chances of failure and improve success rates?

When it comes to speciality logistics, the world may be growing smaller but that does not mean it is any less complex. Pharmaceutical manufacturers conduct clinical trials globally in an effort to reach new populations and gain greater cost efficiencies. However, many of these advantages can be diminished — or wiped away entirely — if the transportation of products, supplies and samples are disrupted.

The international pharma industry spent $8 billion on cold chain logistics in 2014. This figure demonstrates that as R&D grows, so too does logistics. As products evolve, there is a demand for more targeted therapies and targeted logistics solutions, particularly in the clinical trials arena. That means a need for customisation of everything from study samples to packaging to monitoring. Understanding market dynamics and the global supply chain requires a closer look at where manufacturers may find solutions that meet their logistics needs.


Integrity of Supply

Put simply, it is imperative that supplies of drugs, vaccines and ancillaries arrive on time at the right place, with no temperature excursions and with the ability to be used for the patient. Responsibility for this falls on the shoulders of the clinical trial supply professional.

Integrity and continuity of supply are paramount to running a successful trial while ensuring patient safety. This cannot be achieved without timely shipments which have stayed at the correct temperature throughout their journey. However, this does not necessarily have to mean fast shipments, so long as care is taken in the planning stages to ensure expectations are met over transit and clearance times; and that storage is maintained at the correct temperature while clearance and/or regulatory inspections are taking place. Integrity trumps speed most of the time.


Technology Tools

That being said, there is usually a time element involved, especially when investigator sites are poised and ready to enrol patients — so anything which reduces delays should be used where possible. This can include linking technology with temperature monitors, such as integrated voice and web response system registration. There are plenty of tools to help, and cloud-based technology for uploading data from the shipment directly at the consignee site can make all the difference to releasing drugs for application.

Being able to understand and switch between the macro and micro levels is crucial. Monitoring a whole pallet is easy; global positioning systems that can be used during air transport are one of the newest technologies on the temperature-control market. This technology is switched off and on during take-off and landing, but is actively reading at all times and sending the location of the package.

While geo-temp technology has a long way to go beyond its function as an alarm system, this is an innovation the transport world is excited about. When we get to the final delivery, these are simply not practical or cost-effective for most shipments. Using a simple TempTale or Elpro device is usually a better option, even if the location visibility is no longer available.


Where To Go?

There are no wrong countries, but there are those which may not repay investment in set-up costs and regulatory wrangling, and logistical challenges with sufficient patients/ subjects. The difficulty of supplying materials to sites must be part of the consideration as to what is worthwhile. Exacting knowledge of regulations is extremely important for successful shipping and, ultimately, for trial initiation. Sending into traditional markets in the developed world is often simpler as there are mature and generally harmonised regulations.

When entering into new countries, particularly in the developing world, familiarity with the complex requirements is needed. This can be greatly facilitated by having local representation with local personnel who understand the regulations and language, and are operating in the correct timezone.They may also be used as the importer of record to act as the legal entity to apply for paperwork, tax provisions, and to provide information and documentation for clearance demands.

As well as knowing and applying regulatory burdens, working with an understanding of the local cultural norms is key. India is often cited as a problem destination where issues like patient literacy, socioeconomic issues and social cultural norms — including gender differentiation — should be taken into account when developing procedures and guidelines.

There are a number of things which can be preplanned to help avoid complications — such as deciding early on what material is going to be sent, rather than being sourced locally, and how it may be classified.

Some countries make it very difficult to send ancillaries. It can be a tough task to clear through customs items like needles, syringes, thermometers and electronic case report forms; much depends on the destination country and how the items are declared. Local contacts can normally advise on how best to declare materials to comply with national requirements in order to get import permits/licences issued.


Temperature Control

Transport partners are increasingly seeing requests for temperature ranges that fall outside the 'cold' environment, such as ambient/room temperature, or body temperature demands for products that use the body’s own substances (blood, tissue, etc) to fight disease. Good Distribution Practice regulations are evolving as regulators demand temperature control throughout the whole supply chain. Drugs now contain more and more high-value active pharmaceutical ingredients with a shorter shelf-life and strict temperature requirements, and pharma is seeing a range of temperature needs enter the supply chain.The industry is moving away from the term 'cold chain' towards the more inclusive phrase 'temperature-controlled transport'.

Choosing the right packaging for whatever temperature range you need makes all the difference in getting the shipping temperature correct. There are plenty of options with varying costs, from simple water-based gel packs

in a polystyrene box, to vacuum-insulated panel boxes with phase-change material coolant blocks, up to active shipping systems, such as Envirotainers and C-Safe containers, capable of taking pallets of material. There is no single correct choice, as there are many factors to consider – for instance, the origin and destination, temperature range, size of the shipment, and contents. Packaging manufacturers have conducted extensive tests and have data available which, when used in conjunction with the advice of a logistics provider or freight forwarder, can help with selecting the most appropriate packaging for the individual shipment.


China Growth

In China, for example, the administration is working to a target 90-day process for clinical trial approval — including scientific review and ethics approval — but this is not always met. Typically, it takes between three and six months to complete the process and achieve all the necessary documents to actually import clinical supplies into the country. The requirements of import permits must be followed carefully. If they are issued by the Beijing Food and Drug Administration, then importing should be done through Beijing. Using a different port of entry will lead to complications and the likelihood of delays — and all that entails.

The timescales may seem long and lead you to question whether it is worth going to China, but bear in mind that there is a requirement to complete a clinical trial in the country before drugs can be marketed after regulatory approval. By 2016, the value of pharmaceutical sales in China is expected to be greater than that of Japan — currently the world’s second-largest market (1).

There are ways to control shipments, and our access to and visibility of them throughout the supply chain. Using tools and working with experienced partners makes all the different in both planning and implementation.


References

1. Industry Report, Healthcare: China, The Economist Intelligence Unit, August 2014