绿色能为您做什么?

可持续发展工作如何让您的供应链变得更好。

绿色正在从陈词滥调的企业口号变成能够用来简化业务运营的方式。全球各地的公司继续在可持续发展方面进行重大投资,这不仅有利于环境,而且也有利于他们所服务的客户。绿色对专业物流有何意义——为何对您的供应链如此重要?World Courier 探讨了发货人在环保创新方面会提出的一些最关键问题。


何以称之为绿色?

如何在可持续发展方面评估专业物流合作伙伴?这不但复杂,而且还要考虑您的标准以及物流提供商对自己进行衡量的方式。在 World Courier,我们经常会发现客户具有自己的环境报告,而我们最自豪的时刻就是因为我们拥有严格的政策而能够满足客户的要求。但在选择物流合作伙伴时,有几个值得发货人关注的方面:

  • 全球规模。在全球范围内运营虽然复杂,但却是全球产品开发期间的关键所在。要想维持严格的环保标准,就离不开那些不仅具有全球影响力、而且拥有专业知识并能理解和执行地方法规的物流合作伙伴。
  • 认证。您的运输合作伙伴在运营中使用什么样的标准?目前的全球环境标准是 ISO 14001,它为企业制定有效的环境政策奠定了基础。该认证要求通过环境手册评估合规性来进行年度审核,这不仅要检查当地办事处的合规性,而且还要评估整个物流网络的合规性。ISO 14001 环境手册的合规性必须强制执行;不合规的公司会在每年重新认证时面临风险。
  • 可衡量的努力。ISO 14001 认证还包括动态组成部分,公司需要通过该组成部分来评估每年的具体环保计划。物流提供商自己决定每年要评估哪些内容,而这些计划可以包括从废纸减少和打印机墨盒处理到电池回收的各个方面。虽然每年都要提出新的关注点,但人们通常认为运输世界中的有些事情根本无法改变。在 ISO 14001 的这个组成部分中,手册明确规定了公司必须证明他们所调查的具体意图。例如,World Courier 就通过从手工纸质文件转移到电子系统发现了显著的商业和生态效益。其这类举措使这个最好的专业物流公司能够利用全球影响力将环境伦理方面的创新——也许是一种新的思维方式——带到世界各地的遥远国家。
  • 良好决策。可持续发展主要通过公司的碳足迹减少所驱动,这一点儿并没有什么秘密可言。而对于运输提供商来说,燃料消耗或许是绿色计划中最具挑战性的组成部分。航空运输从本质来说肯定会给环境带来压力,而发货人在跨大陆运输时间和温度限制型产品时也许无法克服这个问题。您如何知道您的物流提供商是否正在考虑过度浪费?利用欧洲的 World Courier Ground 等解决方案,托运人能够在大陆或地区层面上减少航空运费。这些公司使用符合最严格的欧盟法规和排放标准的合格温控车辆。车辆也可以进行资格认证并通过能够消除空车返回的方式进行监测。在车辆可用于装运新的货物时,它可以被派到能够再次装货的最近地方。车辆装满货物之后,即可进入下一段旅程,而这样的燃料消耗才会显得更有意义。


那么在包装方面呢?

在大多数公司开始考虑保护环境时,包装箱是最重要的一个方面,而且可持续发展也在驱动着包装的重要创新。包装上的变化也能带来成本节约。事实上,对行业影响最大的一个改变就是减轻箱子和包装材料的重量。更轻的材料不仅能够减少浪费,而且也能使运费更低。虽然温控要求可能会限制公司能够在实际中采取哪些措施来减少材料和包装重量,但复用包装选项的使用仍然有望得到增加。

在全球各地,World Courier 办事处利用当地专业知识来确保材料完全符合国际标准,并在全球规模的网络中进行管理。这意味着复用解决方案不需要返回起运点即可被再次使用,从而产生额外的成本节约。

此外,包装创新者还正在努力利用坚硬且更轻的一次性解决方案的优点。最具创新性的环境友好型解决方案可能只有一个小型的一次性组件,同时使用其他材料和设计方面的进步来改善重量和温控能力指标。


伦理与价值之间的联系是什么?

为正在开展临床试验的医药生产商提供以患者为中心的供应链解决方案的公司深知经营责任的重要性。由于这么多的货物会影响到患者的生命,值得信赖的运输提供商总是能够在任务中满足与客户的伦理义务相一致的运营要求,从而提供安全、有效的产品和样品。专业物流合作伙伴的价值与人为因素有关,因此在全球各地更多地保护人们健康也让可持续发展成为任何合作伙伴的高价值特征。


可持续发展和专业运输能够齐头并进吗?

一句话,可以。可持续发展正日益成为衡量各个公司的质量和社会责任的一种手段。人们有理由相信,如果没有质量——这是对完美执行的承诺,具体体现在对最具时间和温度敏感性的产品进行最有效和最高效的运输——专业运输的“专业”方面将不复存在。

更重要的是,如果将质量视为价值和成本的最佳结合,那么从成本效益方面考虑可持续发展将使环保工作成为专业运输的关键所在。虽然走向绿色肯定是符合伦理的做法,但还要考虑运输领域中不负责任的运营会对营业收入带来哪些不利影响。供应链中的浪费性经营行为——过度电力消耗、包装废弃物和燃料效率低下——都可能转化为更高的整体成本或降低质量衡量指标。


下一步应如何做?

很明显的是,“绿色”理念正在引发媒体关注并逐渐深入人心。简单地来说就是,运输业不能再对环境问题视而不见。最具前瞻性思维的运输提供商将继续在竞争和监管发展方面领先一步。他们会自发自愿地进行观察和创新,而不会等待别人来教他们下一步要如何做。而关注地球友好的未来对全球企业来说都是双赢的结果。

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

What Can Green Do for You?

How sustainability efforts change your supply chain for the better.

Going green is moving from a clichéd corporate phrase to simply the way business is run. Companies around the globe continue to make significant investments in sustainability that benefit not only the environment, but also the customers they serve. What does green mean for specialty logistics — and why does it matter for your supply chain? World Courier explores a few of the most critical questions shippers are asking when it comes to eco-friendly innovation.


How green is green?

How do you evaluate a specialty logistics partner in terms of sustainability? It’s complex, but consider your standards, as well as how the logistics provider measures itself. At World Courier, we often find that customers provide their own environmental statements, and our proudest moments come when we can comply because of our own strict policies. But there are a few areas shippers can focus on when selecting a logistics partner:

  • Global scale. Operating consistently across the globe is complex but critical in the age of worldwide product development. Maintaining the strictest environmental standards means relying on a logistics partner that has not only global presence, but also the expertise and ability to understand and execute on local regulations.
  • Certifications. What standard is your shipping partner operating to? The current global environmental standard is ISO 14001, which lays the foundation for companies to set up effective environmental policies. Certification requires annual audits conducted by evaluating compliance with an environmental manual — not only to check compliance in local offices, but also to evaluate the entirety of a logistics network. Compliance with the ISO 14001 environmental manual is compulsory; non- compliant companies risk their recertification each year.
  • Measurable efforts. ISO 14001 certification also includes a dynamic component by which companies assess specific environmental initiatives year over year. The logistics provider decides what to evaluate on an annual basis, and initiatives can include everything from waste paper reduction and printer cartridge disposal to battery recycling. Each year, there’s something new to look at, all with the understanding that, in the transport world, some things simply cannot change. Under this component of ISO 14001, manuals define specific intentions that companies must demonstrate they investigated. World Courier, for example, found significant business and ecological benefits by moving from manual paper files to electronic systems. It’s initiatives like these that enable the best specialty logistics companies to leverage global reach to bring innovation in environmental ethics — and perhaps a new way of thinking — to remote countries across the world.
  • Sound decisions. It’s no secret that sustainability is largely driven by reductions in a company’s carbon footprint. And for transport providers, fuel consumption is perhaps the most challenging component of green initiatives. Air transport, by nature, puts a strain on the environment that shippers may not be able to overcome when transporting products with time and temperature constraints across continents. How do you know your logistics provider is being mindful of excess waste? Solutions like World Courier Ground in Europe allow shippers to cut down on air freight in a continental or regional sense. These companies operate qualified temperature control vehicles that comply with the strictest EU regulations and emissions standards. The vehicles can also be qualified and monitored in such a way that returning empty is mitigated. As a vehicle becomes available for new freight, it can be dispatched to the closest place it can be loaded again. It is then full for the next leg of the journey and the conscious consumption of fuel.


What about packaging?

Boxes are top-of-mind when most companies start thinking about protecting the environment, and sustainability has driven significant innovation in packaging. Changes in packaging are creating cost savings, too. In fact, one change with the biggest industry impact is lighter boxes and packaging material. Not only does lighter material reduce waste, it also results in better freight prices. And while temperature control may limit what companies can realistically do to reduce material and package weight, multi-use packaging options are seeing an uptick in widespread use.

Across the globe, World Courier offices leverage local expertise to ensure material is completely qualified according to international standards and managed within the network on a global scale. That means multi-use solutions need not return to their origin, producing additional cost savings.

In addition, packaging innovators are working to leverage the advantages of both rigid and more lightweight single- use solutions. The most innovative, environmentally friendly solutions might have only a small single-use component, while using advances in other materials and design to improve metrics in both shipping weight and temperature-control capabilities.


What is the connection between ethics and value?

Companies that provide patient-minded supply chain solutions for pharmaceutical manufacturers running clinical trials recognize the importance of operating responsibly. With so many shipments impacting patient lives, a trusted transport provider is accustomed to being tasked with operational requirements that align with shippers’ ethical obligation to providing safe, effective products and samples. The value of a specialty logistics partner is wrapped in the human element, and more and more, protecting people on a global basis makes sustainability a high-value attribute in any partner.


Do sustainability and specialty transport go hand-in-hand?

In a word, yes. Sustainability is increasingly becoming a measure of quality and social responsibility for any company. And one could reasonably argue that, without quality — a commitment to flawless execution that reflects the most efficient and effective movement of the most time-and temperature-sensitive products — the “specialty” part of specialty transport just doesn’t exist.

What’s more, if quality is the intersection of value and cost, thinking about sustainability in terms of cost-effectiveness makes eco-friendly efforts critical for specialty transport. And while going green is certainly ethical, consider the bottom line disadvantages associated with not operating responsibly in the transport field. Wasteful operations in the supply chain — excess power consumption, packaging waste and fuel inefficiencies — can translate to higher overall costs or reduction in quality measures.


What’s next?

It is clear that the idea of “green” is moving into both the headlines and people’s heads. Simply put, the transport industry cannot ignore environmental concerns anymore. The most forward-thinking transport providers will continue to stay one step ahead of both competition and regulatory development. They’ll watch and innovate on their own accord, never waiting to be told what’s next. And looking to the future of earth-friendliness is a win-win for worldwide business.